15 Things to Get for an Outdoor Birthday Party

Whether your guests are young, or just young at heart, turn on the patio lights, turn up the tunes and host a backyard party.

All photography by Jared Sych

In this city it’s not always easy to count on your planters to bring colour to outdoor spaces, so add a dash of colour with outdoor art or colourful patio chairs instead. It doesn’t have to be a birthday to have cake and ice cream or course, it just makes the celebration that much sweeter. Mix and match colourful kitschy melamine cups and plates – and even silicone cocktail umbrellas – inspired by paper options. But when hosting kids, always consider opting for disposable linens.

“Like Ripples on a Pond” outdoor painting by T.E. Murray and “Flowers the Emotions” outdoor painting by T.E. Murray

$317 to $1,267. From Maria Toms, 6051 Centre St. S., 403-454-6051, mariatomas.com

Glass party LED string lights

$30. From Pier 1 Imports, 8180 11 St. S.E., 403-692-9300, and four other locations, pier1.ca

Annex Brewery Miir growler

$85 for growler and one fill of either root beer or beer. From Annex Ale Project, 4323 1 St. S.E., 403-475-4412, annexales.com

Vigoro Adirondack border

$5.48 for 55-cm length. From The Home Depot, 6500 Macleod Tr. S.W., 403-258-3800, homedepot.com

Six-inch lemon cream cake

$55. From Decadent Brulee, 722 11 Ave. S.W., 403-245-5535, decadentbrulee.ca

Magisso cake server

$19. From The Compleat Cook, 232 Willow Park Village, 403-278-1220, compleatcook.ca

Beverage napkins

$2.07. From Party City, 9950 Macleod Tr. S.E., 403-291-4537, partycity.ca

Medallion melamine plates

$40 for set of four. From Crate and Barrel, 100 Anderson Rd. S.E., 403-278-7020, crateandbarrel.ca

MyTai umbrella drink markers

$18 for set of six. From Crate and Barrel, 100 Anderson Rd. S.E., 403-278-7020, crateandbarrel.ca

Ice cream scoop

$75. From Britannia Kitchen & Home, 816 49 Ave. S.W., 403-243-4444, britanniahardware.com

Plastic table cover

$3.99. From Canadian Tire, available in a variety of colours, 9940 Macleod Tr. S.E., 403-278-4040, canadiantire.ca

Seatbelt dining chair by Philips

$1,045. From Domaine Furnishings & Design, 8, 7130 Fisher Rd. S.E., 403-301-2339, domainefurnishings.com

Blood-orange sorbet

$9 for a pint. From Village Ice Cream, 431 10 Ave. S.E., 403-261-7950, and two other locations, villageicecream.com

Melamine ice cream bowls

$30 for set of four. From Crate and Barrel, 100 Anderson Rd. S.E., 403-278-7020, crateandbarrel.ca

Turtle Shell 3.0 rugged wireless boom box

$129. From MEC, 830 10 Ave. S.W., 403-269-2420, mec.ca

Sign up for Avenue’s Shopping & Style Newsletter for inspiration and ideas from our local retail, design and decor community.

Related posts

The Future of Shopping in Post-Pandemic Calgary

Tsering Asha

Calgary Artist Harvey Nichol Drops Spring/Summer Fashion Collection

Colin Gallant

Staff Picks: Local Products We Love

avenuecalgary

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Privacy Policy

Privacy & Cookies Policy