Calgary’s Community Gardens Ready for Spring

In all quadrants of the city, you can now find a community garden ready to be planted for the 2013 season. These gardens, many accessible through community associations, allow Calgarians to have fresh and local produce at their fingertips – and most gardens are located within walking distance from your…

In all quadrants of the city, you can now find a community garden ready to be planted for the 2013 season. These gardens, many accessible through community associations, allow Calgarians to have fresh and local produce at their fingertips – and most gardens are located within walking distance from your home.

They can be a great option for condo-dwellers or renters too.

If your neighbourhood hasn’t developed it’s own garden yet, you can find out how to start one through The City of Calgary and Calgary Horticultural Society.

Green thumbs and new gardeners will also want to check out Seedy Saturday where you can find open-pollinated seeds and get tips on how to make your community garden grow.

Calgary’s community gardens:

Northeast

Northern Hills Community Association – Coventry and Harvest Gardens: northernhills.ab.ca/community-gardens

Winston Heights/Mountview Community Garden: winstonheights.ca

Northwest

Banff Trail Community Garden: banfftrailcommunity.ca/community-garden

Bowness Community Garden: mybowness.com

Bowness Railyway Community Garden: bownessrailwaygarden.blogspot.ca

Brentwood Community Garden: brentwoodgardening.blogspot.ca

Capitol Hill Community Garden: capitolhillcommunity.ca/community-garden/

Hillhurst-Sunnyside Community Garden: hillhurstsunnyside.org

Montgomery Community Garden: mcapeople.ca

Mount Pleasant Community Garden: mpca.ca

Ranchlands Community Garden: ranchlandsgarden.wordpress.com

Rocky Ridge Royal Oak Community Garden: rrroca.com

Silver Springs Community Garden: silverspringsgarden.wordpress.com

Sunnyside Shared Community Garden: sunnysidesharedcommunitygarden.blogspot.ca

Tuscany Community Garden: tuscanygarden.wordpress.com

Valley Ridge Community Garden: vrca.info

West Hillhurst Community Garden: westhillhurst.com

Southeast

Acadia Community Garden (Proposed): calgaryarea.com

Albert Park Centennial Community Garden: apcg.webs.com

Chapparal Green Thumbs Community Garden: chapgreenthumbs.ca

Deer Ridge Community Garden: deerridgeca.com

Douglasdale Glen Community Garden: calhort.org

Mid-Sun Community Garden: midsun.org

Ramsay Community Garden: ramsaycalgary.ca

WillowRidge Community Garden: willowridge.ca

Southwest

Bankview Community Garden: bankview.org

Cedarbrae Community Garden: cedarbraegarden.wordpress.com

Cliff Bungalow-Mission Community Garden: cliffbungalowmission.com

Downtown Calgary Community Garden: calgarydowntown.com

Elboya Heights Community Garden (Proposed): elboyaheights.com

Lakeview Community Garden: lakeviewcommunity.org

Richmond Knob Hill Community Garden and Orchard: richmondknobhill.ca

Southwood Community Garden: cggs.ca

Sunalta Wildflower Community Garden: sunalta.net

Somerset Bridlewood Community Garden: somersetbridlewood.ca

South Calgary Community Garden: communitycrop.org

Strathcona Christie Aspen Community Garden: scacalgary.ca

Get more inspiring and uplifting stories about Calgary with our Avenue P.S. newsletter.

Related posts

Alice Lam Helps Calgarians Give Back Through Volunteering

Travis Klemp

Lost Something in the Snow? These Calgary Metal Detectorists Can Help Find It

Nathan Kunz

7 Cool Facts About the Canadian Sport Institute Calgary

Colin Gallant

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Privacy Policy

Privacy & Cookies Policy