4.2 C
Calgary, CA
May 22, 2019

2018 Holiday Gift Guide: The Ultimate List

It’s beginning to sound a lot like Christmas, everywhere you go. So we let 
the carols you’ll likely hear in shops all season long inspire our selections for our annual shop-local gift guide.

Stocking stuffers and small gifts for faithful friends who are dear to us.

 

Niah tassel earrings by CoutuKitsch

Photograph by Jared Sych.

$45 at The Livery Shop, 1130 10 Ave. S.E., 403-453-7711, theliveryshop.com

 

XO PM serum and Heavy C​

Photograph by Jared Sych.

XO PM serum, $190 for 30 ml, and Heavy C, $89 from XO Treatment Room, 1306 1 St. S.W., 403-475-3088, xotreatmentroom.com

 

Stainless steel straws

Photograph by Jared Sych.

$4 to $5.25 each at The Apothecary in Inglewood, 921 9 Ave. S.E., 403-453-0313, the-apothecary.ca

 

Kazoo

Photograph by Jared Sych.

$1.99 from Long & McQuade, 225 58 Ave. S.E., 403-244-5555, plus two other locations, long-mcquade.com

 

Brass-coated steel adjustable desk calendar by Coronet

Photograph by Jared Sych.

$24 at Recess Shop, 1323 9 Ave. S.E., 587-433-4226, recessshop.ca

 

Beer soap by Kogi Naturals

Photograph by Jared Sych.

$19 (three- and six-bar packages available) at espy, 1009 9 Ave. S.E., 403-457-3779, espyexperience.com

 

Pocket knife inlaid with turquoise

Photograph by Jared Sych.

$80 at Cody & Sioux, 1226B 9 Ave. S.E., 403-264-2489, codyandsioux.com

 

Matchbox puzzles

Photograph by Jared Sych.

$3.95 each at Owl’s Nest Books, Britannia Plaza Shopping Centre, 403-287-9557, owlsnestbooks.com

 

Night cable charging cord by Native Union

Photograph by Jared Sych.

$55 at Guildhall, 1222 9 Ave. S.E., 403-454-4399, guildhallhome.com

 

Almond nougatine

Photograph by Jared Sych.

$3.25 per 100 g bag at Berlingo (also available in coconut), 327 23 Ave. S.W., 403-764-1866, berlingocalgary.com

 

Shea butter hand cream

Photograph by Jared Sych.

$32 at L’Occitane, The Core, CF Chinook Centre and Market Mall, ca.loccitane.com

 

Cuticle oil

Photograph by Jared Sych.

$10 for 30 ml at Frilly Lilly, multiple locations, frillylilly.ca

 

Custom-made pet tags (or key chains) Wanderlust Creatures

Photograph by Jared Sych.

$25 each at Unleashed, 2715 14 St. S.W., 403-245-0861, unleasheddogs.net

 

Ecocube grow-your-own Christmas tree

Photograph by Jared Sych.

$10 at Liz & Lottie, 537 Riverfront Ave. S.E., 403-263-0800, lizandlottie.ca

 

Frankincense and Myrrh All Natural Face Oil

Photograph by Jared Sych.

$38 at Ellie Bianca, 100, 814 16 Ave. N.W., 587-333-4143, elliebianca.com

 

Pep Talk body wash

Photograph by Jared Sych.

$18 at Skoah, 116 10 St. N.W., 587-315-5407, plus two other locations, skoah.com​

 

AW03 Pucker Up Trio

Photograph by Jared Sych.

$75 at Artists Within, 822 11 Ave. S.W., aw03maquillage.com​

 

Karbon & Kevlar money clip

Photograph by Jared Sych.

$34 at The Cinder & Sage Loft, 2107B 4 St. S.W., 403-681-0705, cinderandsage.com

 

Pavé charm

Photograph by Jared Sych.

$98 from Michael Kors, michaelkors.ca

 

Mix-tape candy tin with cherry-flavoured candies

Photograph by Jared Sych.

$6.89,\ at Gummi Boutique, 205 10 St. N.W., 587-353-0031 and 1321 9 Ave. S.E., 403-457-4864, gummiboutique.ca

These delicious gifts will have everyone shouting “we won’t go until we get some!”

 

Hand-crafted wooden spoons by Norseman Work Shop

Photograph by Jared Sych.

$26 per spoon and $28 per spatula at Meraki Supply Co., 103, 305 10 St. N.W., merakisupplyco.com​

 

Seedlip non-alcoholic spirits

Photograph by Jared Sych.

$40 at Bridgeland Market, 1104 1 Ave. N.E., 403-269-2381, bridgelandmarket.com

 

Wooden charcuterie board by Gerald Perry

Photograph by Jared Sych.

$185 at Peasant Cheese Shop, 1249 Kensington Rd. N.W., 587-353-3599, peasantcheese.com

 

Balsamic vinegar and olive oil

Photograph by Jared Sych.

200 ml bottles, $14 each at Blue Door Oil & Vinegar, 3518 Garrison Gate S.W., 403-474-1115 and 3126, 8561 8A Ave. S.W., 587-353-6888, bluedoorcalgary.com​

 

Dutchdeluxes leather oven gloves

Photograph by Jared Sych.

$125 at Inspirati, 120, 2207 4 St. S.W., 403-244-4443, inspirati.ca

 

Spheres clear ice tray by Rabbit

Photograph by Jared Sych.

$46 at Stuff, 102, 709 11 Ave. S.W., 403-209-2606, stuff4him.ca

 

Yuzu-Meyer lemon cocktail mix

Photograph by Jared Sych.

$25 at Williams-Sonoma, CF Chinook Centre, 403-410-9191, williams-sonoma.ca​

 

Bodum Chambord gold French press

Photograph by Jared Sych.

$65 at Crate and Barrel, Southcentre, 403-278-7020, crateandbarrel.ca

 

Hand-dipped chocolate cherries

Photograph by Jared Sych.

$38 for a box of nine at Cococo Chocolatiers, multiple locations, cococochocolatiers.com

 

Electric citrus squeezer by Alessi

Photograph by Jared Sych.

$285 at Robert Sweep, 808 16 Ave. S.W., 403-262-8525, robertsweep.com

 

Pepper grinder by Peter Tracy

Photograph by Jared Sych.

$130 at Britannia Kitchen & Home, Britannia Plaza Shopping Centre, 403-243-4444, britanniahome.ca

 

Assorted barbecue sauces by Soul Kitchen

Photograph by Jared Sych.

$9.99 each at Bite Grocer & Eatery, 1023 9 Ave. S.E., 403-263-3966, biteyyc.com

 

Sugarfina candies

Photograph by Jared Sych.

$37 for three-piece gift set or $10.95 per cube at Lemonceillo Home, 1223B 9 Ave. S.E., 403-475-8442, lemonceillo.com

 

All-Clad sous vide immersion circulator

Photograph by Jared Sych.

$300 at Hudson’s Bay, multiple locations, thebay.com

 

Bandistas extra añejo tequila

Photograph by Jared Sych.

$88 at Willow Park Wines & Spirits, 10801 Bonaventure Dr. S.E., 403-296-1640 and 162, 200 Barclay Parade S.W., 403-262-9463, willowpark.net 

 

Popcorn seasonings set

Photograph by Jared Sych.

$45 at The Silk Road Spice Merchant, 1403A 9 Ave. S.E., 403-261-1955, silkroadspices.ca 

 

Smeg seven-cup electric kettle

Photograph by Jared Sych.

$189 at Lowe’s, multiple locations, lowes.ca

 

Scoop That heated carving ice cream scoop

Photograph by Jared Sych.

$31 at Metro Element, 1221 Kensington Rd. N.W., 403-257-7588, metroelement.net

 

Stainless steel Rondeau

Photograph by Jared Sych.

$270 at Le Creuset, CF Chinook Centre, 403-262-1128, lecreuset.ca

 

Perfect presents for where the love light gleams.

 

Octaevo paper flower vase

Photograph by Jared Sych.

Large perforated, $48, large, $32, small, $25 at Dade Loft, 104, 1212 13 St. S.E., 403-454-0243, dadeloft.com​ 

 

Silver and gold decorative “urchins”

Photograph by Jared Sych.

$263 (large) and $233 (small) at Home Evolution, 7133 11 St. S.E., 403-253-5552, home-evolution.com

 

Copper touch three-mode dimmer lamp made from repurposed cedar by Loft Creative

Photograph by Jared Sych.

$125 at Dept., 1325A 9 Ave. S.E., 587-353-9337, theuncommons.ca

 

Gold and blue Halos tray

Photograph by Jared Sych.

$339 at Interior Living, 1124 10 Ave. S.W., 403-246-6240, interiorliving.ca

 

14-inch glass cloche with wooden base

Photograph by Jared Sych.

$92 at Country Living Furnishings & Design, 3919A Richmond Rd. S.W., 403-240-0111, countrylivingfurnishings.com

 

Hasami Porcelain pottery tea service items

Photograph by Jared Sych.

$35 to $125 at Pomp & Circumstance, 1204 12 St. S.W., 403-244-4211, pompandcircumstance.ca 

 

Knit pillows

Photograph by Jared Sych.

$105 for the neck roll, $70 for the 18-x-18-inch square at Roots, multiple locations, roots.com

 

Well watering can by Menu

Photograph by Jared Sych.

$280 at Kit Interior Objects, 725 11 Ave. S.W., 403-508-2533, kitinteriorobjects.com

 

Put a little frosting under the tree with these precious stones and beautiful baubles.

 

Aqua Allegoria Mandarine Basilic by Guerlain perfume

Photograph by Jared Sych.

$75 for 75 ml at Parfum Gallerie, Bankers Hall, 403-297-0080, parfumgallerie.ca

 

Metallic socks with rhinestones

Photograph by Jared Sych.

$20 per pair at Kate Hewko Concept Store, 106, 908 17 Ave. S.W., 587-356-1229, katehewko.com

 

Large harvest earrings in sterling silver by Andrea Blais

Photograph by Jared Sych.

$575 at Glenbow Museum Shop, 130 9 Ave. S.E., 403-268-4119, glenbow.org/shop

 

Crystal perfume bottles

Photograph by Jared Sych.

$125 tall, $140 oval at Mélange for the Home, 940C 2 Ave. N.W., 403-270-9687, melangeforthehome.com

 

Hand-knotted bead necklace with stone, pearl and sterling silver by Soma Mo

Photograph by Jared Sych.

$225, at Nikola, 103, 2115 4 St. S.W., 403-690-7922, shopnikola.com

 

Reflections on the Water 18-karat yellow-gold ring with 0.724-carat weight diamonds and three independently twisting lacquered rings by Wellendorff

Photograph by Jared Sych.

$32,200 at J. Vair Anderson Jewellers, 409 3 St. S.W., 403-266-1699, jvairanderson.com

 

Ceramic bracelets and earrings with diamond and gold accents by Roberto Demeglio

Photograph by Jared Sych.

Price upon request at Brinkhaus Jewellers, 823 6 Ave. S.W., 403-269-4800, brinkhaus.com

 

Keep your loved ones merry and bright (and warm) with these cozy gifts.

 

Ribbed wool toque by Acne Studios

Photograph by Jared Sych.

$200 each at gravitypope, 1126 17 Ave. S.W., 403-209-0961, gravitypope.com

 

Fur trim reading socks

Photograph by Jared Sych.

$35 at Indigo, multiple locations, chapters.indigo.ca

 

I Love You So Matcha bath potion

Photograph by Jared Sych.

$21 at Fieldstudy, 102, 1812 4 St. S.W., 587-356-2134, fieldstudyshop.com

 

Market Spice Rooibos tea

Photograph by Jared Sych.

$13 for 125 grams, tin $6 at Tea Trader, 1228A 9 Ave. S.E., 403-264-0728, teatrader.com

 

Royal Rose hot toddy cocktail kit

Photograph by Jared Sych.

$35 at The Cookbook Co. Cooks, 722 11 Ave. S.W., 403-265-6066, cookbookcooks.com

 

Alpaca wool throw

Photograph by Jared Sych.

$169 at The Heather Company, 2711 14 St. S.W., 403-474-5852, theheatherco.com

 

Woodfire candle by Illume

Photograph by Jared Sych.

$27 at Steeling Home, 1010 17 Ave. S.W., 403-245-0777, steelinghome.ca

 

Have a happy holiday with gifts that will keep everyone entertained until the turkey’s ready.

 

Magneti’book Crazy Faces game

Photograph by Jared Sych.

$28 at Monkeyshines Children’s Books and Toys, 113, 2215 33 Ave. S.W., 403-240-1723, monkeyshinesbooks.com 

 

Handmade wooden spinning tops by Andrew Glazebrook

Photograph by Jared Sych.

$45 at the Alberta Craft Gallery in cSpace King Edward, cSpace King Edward, 280, 1721 29 Ave. S.W., 587-391-0129, albertacraft.ab.ca/the-gallery-shop

 

IQ Stars game

Photograph by Jared Sych.

$15 at Castle Toys, 101, 5718 1A St. S.W., 403-258-1100, castletoys.ca​

 

Boite à Musique music box by Vilac

Photograph by Jared Sych.

$18 at Purr Petite, 118A 10 St. N.W., 403-283-7877, plus two other locations, purrpetite.com 

 

Mini acoustic guitar by Loog

Photograph by Jared Sych.

$130 at Discovery Hut, CF Chinook Centre, 403-301-4180

 

Race to the Finish Quadrilla by Hape

Photograph by Jared Sych.

$43 at Livingstone & Cavell Extraordinary Toys, 1124 Kensington Rd. N.W., 403-270-4165, extraordinarytoys.com​

 

Engino Discovering STEM Simple Machines set

Photograph by Jared Sych.

$140 at Telus Spark, 220 St. Georges Dr. N.E., 403-817-6800, sparkscience.ca

This article appears in the December 2018 issue of Avenue Calgary.

Related posts

This New Art Installation is Basically 13 Instagrammable Walls in One Spot

Alana Willerton

5 Natural Deodorants To Try (You Can Find Them All in Calgary)

Jaelyn Molyneux

6 Awesome Ottomans For Your Home

Sarah McMenemy

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Privacy Policy

Privacy & Cookies Policy