What to Do in Calgary Every Day This Summer

From music festivals to sporty activities, here’s one fun thing you can do every day this summer.

June 2024

Photo by martin_33, courtesy of Canva.

Thursday, June 20: Check out a concert during Sled Island (runs June 19 to 23).

Friday, June 21: Attend one of the local events happening on National Indigenous Peoples Day.

Saturday, June 22: Join Aboriginal Awareness Week Calgary for an Indigenous arts and crafts market, a traditional pow wow, a hand games tournament, a free barbecue and more.

Sunday, June 23: Fill up on seafood at Rodney’s Oyster Fest and Shucking Competition.

Monday, June 24: Spruce up your outdoor space by visiting a local garden centre.

Tuesday, June 25: Bring a book to an outdoor Read-A-Thon in Central Memorial Park.

Wednesday, June 26: Spend the day golfing with a friend.

Thursday, June 27: See a movie at the Fairy Tales Queer Art & Film Festival (runs June 27 to 30).

Friday, June 28: Dig into some Roman-style pizza at a new pizzeria and bar on 17th Avenue S.W.

Saturday, June 29: Check out dragon and lion dances, chalk art, public lectures and more at Calgary’s first Xiang Loong Festival (runs from June 29 to July 14).

Sunday, June 30: See the new photography exhibit by Meryl McMaster at Glenbow at The Edison (on now until September 1).

 

July 2024

Fiestaval. Photo courtesy of Fiestaval.

Monday, July 1: Spend Canada Day at Heritage Park.

Tuesday, July 2: Grab a summer read from Shelf Life Books and read in Central Memorial Park.

Wednesday, July 3: See world-class equestrians compete at Spruce Meadows’ North American tournament (runs July 3 to 7).

Thursday, July 4: Take advantage of half-off gate admission for the Calgary Stampede’s Sneak-A-Peek night.

Friday, July 5: See Gary LeVox from Rascal Flatts at the new Burwood Stampede Music Festival.

Saturday, July 6: Visit Mexifest for dancing, live music, wrestling, tasty eats and more (runs July 4 to 7).

Sunday, July 7: Watch barrel racing, bull-riding, steer-wrestling and more at the Stampede rodeo.

Monday, July 8: Taste amazing foods (and cast your vote for the People’s Choice Award) at The District at Beltline’s 2nd Annual Stampede Chef’s Showdown.

Tuesday, July 9: Play a round of pickleball at the YYC Pickleball facility.

Wednesday, July 10: See powwow and cultural demonstrations at Elbow River Camp.

Thursday, July 11: Cheer on the Calgary Surge basketball team as it takes on the Vancouver Bandits.

Friday, July 12: Run or walk Run Calgary’s virtual Alberta Boot Flapjack 15 race.

Saturday, July 13: Shop for produce and snacks at the Farmers & Makers Markets’ Sunalta location.

Sunday, July 14: Go berry-picking during Saskatoon Farm’s u-pick season.

Monday, July 15: Cool down with an ice cream flight at Made by Marcus.

Tuesday, July 16: Head to Millennium Park to go skateboarding (or watch good skateboarders) at the biggest outdoor skatepark in Canada.

Wednesday, July 17: Check out Fairmont Palliser’s 110th anniversary historical photography exhibit on the hotel’s mezzanine level.

Thursday, July 18: Take in the wildlife at the Inglewood Bird Sanctuary.

Friday, July 19: Immerse yourself in Latin culture at Fiestaval in Olympic Plaza (July 19 to 21).

Saturday, July 20: Shop for tasty eats at Avenue’s 2024 Best Things to Eat and Drink Market.

Sunday, July 21: Head to McMahon Stadium to see the BC Lions play the Calgary Stampeders.

Monday, July 22: Watch the otters swim in the Wild Canada exhibit at Wilder Institute/Calgary Zoo.

Tuesday, July 23: Order a creative cool treat during YYC Ice Cream Fest (July 19 to August 5).

Wednesday, July 24: Try the new drop-zone at the WinSport Bike Park.

Thursday, July 25: Catch opening night of the 45th annual Calgary Folk Music Festival (runs July 25 to 28).

Friday, July 26: Book a Pedal Pub experience with some friends.

Saturday, July 27: Shop, eat and explore during Inglewood Sunfest.

Sunday, July 28: Explore Granary Road’s Farmer’s Market and Active Learning Park.

Monday, July 29: Take your pup to one of Calgary’s 160 off-leash park areas.

Tuesday, July 30: Soak up the sun on a rooftop patio.

Wednesday, July 31: Shop from 35+ local vendors at the U/D Night Market.

 

August 2024

Hotel Arts. Photo courtesy of Hotel Arts.

Thursday, August 1: Take in the art at Contemporary Calgary for free on Free First Thursdays from 5 to 9 p.m.

Friday, August 2: See an indie theatre production at Calgary Fringe Theatre Festival (runs August 2 to 10).

Saturday, August 3: Check out local restaurants on a Food Bike Tour.

Sunday, August 4: Enjoy afternoon tea on the Bow Valley Ranche Restaurant veranda.

Monday, August 5: Catch closing day of Taste of Calgary 2024 (runs August 1 to 5).

Tuesday, August 6: Book a restaurant tasting tour through the Taste the City app.

Wednesday, August 7: Do happy hour with a soulful soundtrack at Deane House’s Jazz in the Garden summer series.

Thursday, August 8: Support local at the weekly Dalhousie Farmers’ Market.

Friday, August 9: Cheer on the racers at the Calgary Dragon Boat Race & Festival (runs August 9 to 11).

Saturday, August 10: Watch Cavalry FC take on the HFX Wanderers FC during a superhero-themed night of soccer.

Sunday, August 11: Explore Marda Loop during the Marda Gras Street Festival.

Monday, August 12: Play a tennis match on one of the City’s 60+ outdoor courts.

Tuesday, August 13: Rent a pedal boat at Bowness Lagoon.

Wednesday, August 14: Order a tropical cocktail at Prosperity Bar in Chinatown.

Thursday, August 15: Play nine holes of outdoor mini-putt at Golf Future YYC.

Friday, August 16: Celebrate Caribbean culture at Carifest (runs August 16 to 18).

Saturday, August 17: Check out Expo Latino, a huge Latin festival in Prince’s Island Park (runs August 16 to 18).

Sunday, August 18: Sing along with Luke Combs at Country Thunder (runs August 16 to 18).

Monday, August 19: Attempt the outdoor climbing wall at Calgary Climbing Centre’s Rocky Mountain location.

Tuesday, August 20: Catch the show-stopping fireworks at GlobalFest (runs August 15, 17, 20, 22 and 24).

Wednesday, August 21: Take your pooch to Village Ice Cream to try the Dogs of Village pint created specifically for dogs.

Thursday, August 22: Float down the Bow River on a raft or kayak from The Paddle Station.

Friday, August 23: Cool down on the Timber Falls log ride at Calaway Park.

Saturday, August 24: Enjoy a tasty day at Barley & Smoke in support of Kids Cancer Care.

Sunday, August 25: Fill up on freshly grilled meat at Brewery & the Beast.

Monday, August 26: Take your bike for a spin on the West Confederation Bicycle Pump Track.

Tuesday, August 27: Order a picnic basket from River Café to enjoy in Prince’s Island Park.

Wednesday, August 28: Go roller skating at the newly opened House of Skate.

Thursday, August 29: Get together with friends for Lougheed House’s adults-only trivia night.

Friday, August 30: Lounge by the pool at Hotel Arts.

Saturday, August 31: Celebrate love at the Calgary Pride Parade & Festival (runs August 31 and September 1).

 

September 2024

Assorted dishes from Raw Japanese Hand Roll Bar. Photo by Chris Landry.

Sunday, September 1: Learn about AI by exploring a new Telus Spark exhibition (on now until September 8).

Monday, September 2: Enjoy a beer on a local brewery’s patio.

Tuesday, September 3: Go see Theatre Calgary’s production of The Play That Goes Wrong (runs from September 3 to 29).

Wednesday, September 4: Order a drink and snack at a 2D café in Kensington.

Thursday, September 5: Learn about aviation at The Hangar Flight Museum.

Friday, September 6: Enjoy dinner and a show at Stage West’s production of Deathtrap (runs September 6 to November 10).

Saturday, September 7: Head to DandyFest to sample beers from more than 20 North American breweries.

Sunday, September 8: Grab some tasty brunch at The Sweatered Hen.

Monday, September 9: Try indoor skydiving at iFly.

Tuesday, September 10: Snack on Japanese hand rolls at Raw in East Village.

Wednesday, September 11: Play with adoptable cats at Regal Cat Cafe.

Thursday, September 12: Go for a relaxing walk in a Calgary park.

Friday, September 13: Hit the batting cage at Absolute Sports’ new second location near the airport.

Saturday, September 14: Go shopping at 4th Street Night Market’s final market of the season.

Sunday, September 15: Pop into the Esker Foundation to see a free art exhibition.

Monday, September 16: Go rock climbing at the Calgary Climbing Centre.

Tuesday, September 17: Check out new exhibits dedicated to Maestro Fresh Wes (on now until February 2025) and The Beatles (runs from July 10 to January 5) at the National Music Centre.

Wednesday, September 18: Play some board games with a friend at D6 Tabletop Café.

Thursday, September 19: See a movie during CIFF’s 25th anniversary (runs from September 19 to 29).

Friday, September 20: Embrace the connection between art and science at Beakerhead (runs from September 20 to 22).

Saturday, September 21: Practice your swing at LaunchPad Golf.

Want more suggestions for the best things to do in Calgary? Sign up for our Weekender Newsletter.

This article appears in the July 2023 issue of Avenue Calgary.

Related posts

The Rise of the Run Club

avenuecalgary

Where to Watch Outdoor Movies in Calgary

Karin Olafson and Alana Willerton

Calgary Events to Check Out This Weekend

avenuecalgary

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Privacy Policy

Privacy & Cookies Policy
Avenue Calgary